translation image français fr
  • translation image English en
  • translation image français fr
translation image français fr
  • translation image English en
  • translation image français fr
Panier 0

Découvrez nos metiers et nos artisans

Common Texture | travel


Nous parcourons le monde pour dénicher des artisans, des lieux de création et des coopératives avec lesquels nouer une collaboration pour élaborer nos propres créations. Notre objectif : perpétuer des traditions artisanales, anciennes et authentiques en créant des objets de décoration et accessoires de mode modernes, qui séduiront les acheteurs soucieux de l’environnement.

L’une des facettes les plus excitantes de notre travail consiste à explorer des lieux inconnus à la recherche d'artisans au savoir-faire impressionnant. Plongez dans l’univers de nos produits.

 

Le tissage de fibres de banane - Inde

Common Texture | banana fiber weaving

La première fois que nous avons découvert ce magnifique petit atelier de tissage dans la campagne du Sud de l'Inde, nous avons été tout simplement fascinées par les doigts agiles qui tissaient la corde en fibre de banane pour façonner de nombreuses variétés de produits. En cercle, un petit groupe de femmes tissaient tout en bavardant, berçant des bébés enveloppés dans des saris.

La blancheur des murs de béton incurvés de l’atelier mettait magnifiquement en valeur cette fibre naturelle durable. Organisées autour d'une coopérative de village, ces femmes créent des produits modernes à partir de cette technique de tissage ancestrale. Ainsi est née notre première collaboration avec elles. Chaque pochette est unique, et vous trouverez dans chacun de nos articles Common Texture le nom de l’artisan qui l’a confectionné, témoignage du lien qui vous unit désormais.

Comment est-il fabriqué? Tout d'abord, les fibres de la peau extérieure de la tige du bananier sont séchées. De petits morceaux de fibre de banane séchée sont ensuite travaillés et roulés à la main en une fine boule de corde qui peut être utilisée comme fil naturel pour l'artisanat. Ce fil est ensuite donné aux femmes tisserandes pour confectionner nos produits. Aucune machine n'est utilisée au cours de ce processus.
En plus de l'aspect doré naturel de la fibre, nous aimons le fait que les bananiers poussent facilement, sans consommation excessive d'eau. Une alternative très durable au coton ou à la soie. Les fibres de banane sont entièrement biodégradables mais extrêmement résistantes et durables. Notre Sac Cabas en Fibre de Banane utilise 100 mètres de corde et nécessite trois jours entiers de tricotage à la main.

Nos tisseurs font partie d'une petite coopérative, dont l'objectif est d'améliorer les conditions de vie des femmes et des cordistes du village, et d’assurer l’accès à l'éducation de ces femmes et de leurs enfants. La coopérative dispose d'un petit atelier, mais les femmes peuvent également travailler dans le confort de leur maison, ce qui leur permet de mieux organiser leur vie familiale. Common Texture travaille directement avec la coopérative, sans recours à des intermédiaires, ce qui nous garantit que tous les bénéfices iront directement à la coopérative.

 

Impression à la main (hand block printing) - Inde

Common Texture | hand block printing

L'un de nos lieux préférés est l'atelier block print que nous utilisons pour nos différentes collections. C'est un véritable oasis au sein d'une ville indienne surpeuplée et bouillonnante, un havre de paix luxuriant que seul vient troubler le son incessant des blocs de bois que l'on frappe avec le dos de la main. Et que dire de ce délicieux chaï sucré qui est toujours servi en guise de bienvenue ?

Comment est-il fabriqué ? L'impression au tampon de bois est un art en soi, qui remonte à l'Inde du 12ème siècle. Tout commence avec un morceau de bois appelé Bunta, un bloc sculpté dans du teck séché par des artisans très expérimentés. Ils gravent un motif sur le bois pour que le sculpteur puisse créer un tampon. Pour créer une pièce de tissu imprimée à la main, il faut un bloc de bois, un coloriste pour la préparation de la teinture naturelle, un maître pour appliquer l'impression de façon experte sur le tissu et une étonnante matriarche qui dirige tout le spectacle comme une symphonie.
C'est un processus lent et magnifique, créé dans cette atmosphère unique. Chaque article de notre collection Maison est conçu de cette façon, imprimé à la main par notre maître artisan et notre coloriste, qui prépare ses potions de couleurs vibrantes.

L’atelier est dirigé par une femme et se focalise sur des pratiques éthiques avec des produits biologiques et issus du commerce équitable. Les colorants sont certifiés écologiques et contribuent à ce que les pratiques soient peu polluantes. Nous sommes très heureux que l’atelier puisse trouver de nouvelles recrues, prêtes à apprendre les compétences transmises par les maîtres. Il fut un temps où cette technique ancienne était menacée de disparition. Fort heureusement, cette technique traditionnelle a connu un regain d'intérêt en Occident et en Orient, et s’est imposée comme alternative aux processus d'impression chimique pratiqués dans les usines. L'impression à la main est également le moyen le plus naturel d'obtenir un produit unique.

Pour la création de nos imprimés, nous privilégions des motifs apaisants, des graphiques subtils et des couleurs douces. Nous nous inspirons de la tradition tout en lui ajoutant une touche de modernité. Quelle émotion d’observer ces motifs prendre vie sous les mains expertes de notre sculpteur, muni de ses seuls blocs de bois !

 

Tissage de fibres naturelles - Malaisie

Common Texture natural fiber woven bangles

C’est lors d’un de nos voyages dans la péninsule ouest de la Malaisie que nous avons rencontré une communauté isolée dont l’artisanat repose principalement sur la confection d’objets en rotin finement tissés. Ces communautés vivent dans la jungle et survivent grâce à l'agriculture nomade. Elles vivent en harmonie avec la nature et se déplacent d’une region à l’autre pour laisser le temps à la jungle de se régénérer. Les femmes Temiar tressent du rotin et des feuilles de palmier issues des plantes Pandanus. Quelle agréable surprise de découvrir ces bracelets malaisiens qui correspondaient parfaitement à notre philosophie ! Perpétuer cet artisanat offre à ces communautés l’opportunité de scolariser les enfants et d’avoir accès à des soins médicaux. Leurs habitants mènent une vie simple et transmettent de génération en génération leurs savoir-faire créatifs pour maintenir leurs traditions. Malgré la barrière de la langue, ces personnes sont parmi les plus accueillantes que nous ayons rencontrées.

 

Marqueterie de bois - Brésil

Common Texture | wood marquetry

Il était impossible de ne pas tomber sous le charme de l'artisanat local lorsque nous avons visité la région amazonienne du Brésil. C'est à Manaus, au cœur de la forêt amazonienne, que nous avons découvert le petit atelier de notre artisan marqueteur. Perpétuant les techniques de sa famille, il puise son inspiration dans la jungle, ses divers arbres et les couleurs naturelles des différents bois. Son style et ses motifs sont particulièrement modernes et mettent en valeur la beauté des bois exotiques locaux.

L’atelier est fortement engagé en faveur de la durabilité, et la petite équipe ne travaille qu'avec du bois certifié FSC and PEFC , ce qui signifie qu’il provient d'une forêt gérée de manière durable. Cela contribue à protéger et préserver la forêt amazonienne pour les générations futures tout en maintenant une belle tradition artisanale locale.

Comment sont-elles fabriquées? En appliquant avec soin les techniques de l'art traditionnel de la marqueterie, de petits morceaux de bois sont assemblés pour créer chaque boucle d'oreille. Chaque pièce est réalisée à la main, avec une précision et un soin tout particuliers depuis la conception, la sélection et la préparation des bois, l'assemblage, le ponçage et le polissage.

La collection de boucles d'oreilles Amazonia met en valeur les couleurs vibrantes et étonnantes du bois de la forêt amazonienne, comme le jaune "angelim rajado", le violet "roxinho", le rouge "muirapiranga" et la noix blanche "jarina" du palmier ivoire, qui est récupérée sur le sol de la forêt tropicale.

Chapeau bas à cet atelier, dont le savoir-faire permet de fournir un revenu durable à la communauté et dont le dévouement permet de préserver les ressources naturelles de la plus grande forêt tropicale du monde !
 

Conception et production écologiques

Common Texture | Do Good Yoga Mat Bags

Chaque fois que nous concevons un nouveau produit, nous le faisons en appliquant une technique "zéro déchet". La production de masse crée une énorme quantité de déchets de tissu, qui finissent souvent dans les décharges ou, au mieux, revendus dans des échoppes locales.
Nos sacs pour tapis de yoga Do Good sont créés à partir de tissus de première qualité, récupérés et soigneusement sélectionnés par nos soins, permettant de réduire les déchets de la production de masse de textile par l’industrie.

Soucieuses de notre environnement, nous expédions vos commandes de la manière la plus écologique possible, en les emballant avec soin dans des emballages réutilisables.

 

Couture et maroquinerie

Common Texture | upcycled leather

Une partie de nos travaux de couture est réalisée dans de petits ateliers locaux dans lesquels nous nous sommes rendues en personne afin de nous assurer qu’ils respectaient les règles d’éthique, d’équité et de convivialité que nous nous sommes fixées.
Nous effectuons également certains travaux de couture nous-mêmes. Nous passons du temps à rechercher les peaux de cuir qui sont en surplus pour créer notre collection de cuir de recuperation. Nous utilisons ensuite des teintures végétales et assouplissons le cuir pour nos besoins avant de découper chaque pièce en appliquant une technique zéro-déchet.

translation image English en
  • translation image English en
  • translation image français fr
translation image English en
  • translation image English en
  • translation image français fr
Cart 0

Explore our Crafts & Artisans

Common Texture | travel


We believe in keeping beautiful ancient crafts alive with handcrafted lifestyle products for the modern conscious shopper. We personally travel the world looking for small community artisans to collaborate with on our designs. 

The best part of our job is exploring the vast, unknown lands in search of inspiring crafts people. When we find that perfect awe-inspiring artisan, it’s like the days of dust and heat slide from our memory. A ‘light-bulb’ moment of how we want to collaborate with the gem that stands before us. We welcome you to explore with us.

 

Banana Fiber Weaving - India

Common Texture | banana fiber weaving

The first time we discovered this gorgeous little weaving nest in rural South India, we were simply mesmerized by the nimble fingers weaving banana fiber rope into all manner of products. A small group of women forming a weaving circle, chatting whilst working, rocking babies wrapped in saris and manning a small shop.

The entire studio was painted white with curved concrete walls, which showed off this natural sustainable fiber beautifully. We learned they were a village co-operative and, with the help of a very dedicated leader, they were learning to create some rather modern products from this very ancient technique. It didn’t take long for us to partner up and start creating our own designs for our brand. One of the most adorable things was to find each woman’s name on a piece of paper inserted into each of our Common Texture clutchesour customers receive this name whenever they purchase from us. It’s a connection to your maker.

How is it made?
  Firstly the fibers from the outer skin of the banana plant stem are dried. Small pieces of dried banana fiber are then twisted and hand rolled into a ball of thin rope that can be used as a natural thread for handicraft. This thread is then given to the women weavers to form our products. No machines are used during this process.
Besides the fiber's natural golden look, we love the fact that banana plants grow easily and don't require additional water to grow. A very sustainable alternative to cotton or silk. Banana fibers are completely biodegradable, yet super resistant and durable. Our tote bag uses 100 meters of rope and takes three whole days of hand knitting to complete.

Our weavers are part of a small cooperative. The focus of the cooperative is improving the living conditions for women and rope makers in the village, as well as education for them and their children. The cooperative has a small studio but the women are also able to work from the comfort of their home, making it easier for them to get work done with children to take care of. Common Texture works directly with the cooperative, we use no middlemen, to make sure all benefits go directly to the cooperative.


“Use me, love me, pass me on.”

 

Hand Block Printing - India

Common Texture | hand block printing

One of our favorite places to visit is the block printing studio that we use. It is such an oasis within a crowded Indian city; lush with greenery and gently bustling with inspiring activity, the unmistakable sound of wooden blocks being hit with the back of the hand. Oh, and the delicious sweet chai tea that’s always on hand.

How is it made?
  Block printing is an art in itself, dating back to 12th century India. It all starts with a piece of wood called a Bunta, a block carved from seasoned teak by highly trained craftsmen. They etch a pattern on to the wood for the woodcarver to create a stamp. To create a finished piece of hand printed fabric, it requires a wood block, a colorist for the natural dye concoction, a master to apply the print expertly to the fabric, and an amazing matriarch who conducts the whole show like a symphony.
It is a slow and beautiful process and we love the result that is created in this zen-like atmosphere. Every item in our home decor collection is created this way, hand printed by our skilled block master and our intriguing color master who whips up her potions of vibrancy.

The block printing studio is woman-run and focuses on ethical and organic practices. Besides being fair-trade they work with certified eco-friendly pigment dye and ensure low-waste practices.
We are so happy the studio is able to find some new recruits to learn the skills handed down from the masters. At one point it was looking like this ancient technique might die out some day soon. Thankfully there has been a resurgence in the West and East for this traditional technique, as people shun the chemically driven printing process formed in factories. We turn to block printing as a more natural way to get a unique product.

When creating our print designs we like to choose calm soothing images, subtle graphics and muted tones. Drawing inspiration from the traditional and giving them a modern tweak. It has been amazing to watch our wood carver create these exclusively designed patterns by hand, with his tools from a block of wood. Seeing them come to life for the first time by the master printer's hand is a very special moment. We hope you enjoy our creativity and make it your own by mix and matching your favorites.


"Embrace the beauty in the handcrafted."

 

Natural Fiber Weaving - Malaysia

Common Texture natural fiber woven bangles

Sometimes in our travels we come across remote communities that are making exquisite fine woven rattan items, as we found on the West peninsular of Malaysia.
The Temiar women weave with rattan and palm fronds from the Pandanus plants. They live in the jungle and survive on nomadic farming, which makes the rattan they use a sustainable resource. They are at one with nature and understand they should let the jungle regrow whilst they move to another area. It was such a surprise to find these intricate Malay Bangles that seemed to fit perfectly with our design values and natural fiber philosophy. Purchasing the bangles gives these communities a chance to educate their youth and even give them access to medical care. They lead a simple life and creative skills are passed down through generations keeping these traditions alive. Although there was a language barrier, they were some of the most welcoming people we have met.


"There’s nothing like the thrill of walking through the jungle and finding bangles."

 

Wood Marquetry - Brazil

Common Texture | wood marquetry


It was impossible not to fall in love with the array of local arts and crafts when we visited the Amazon region of Brazil. It is in Manaus, the entry point to the mighty Amazon Rainforest, where we found the small studio of our wood marquetry artisan. Having learned the techniques from his family; he gets his inspiration from the jungle, with its extraordinary depth and diversity of exotic trees and natural wood colors. His style and designs are fresh and modern, yet they highlight the natural beauty of local wood varieties.

After hearing about the studio's commitment to sustainability, we jumped at the chance to collaborate. The small team only works with wood that is certified with FSC and PEFC labels. This means that the wood comes from a forest that is sustainably managed. Not only is this necessary to protect and preserve the precious Amazon Rainforest, but it helps the forest to flourish for future generations while keeping a beautiful local craft tradition alive.

How is it made? 
Carefully applying the techniques of the traditional art form of marquetry, small pieces of wood are put together to create each earring. Everything is done by hand with skilled precision and care, from the design, selection and preparation of the woods, assembly, sanding, and polishing.

The Amazonia Earrings collection shows off the vibrant and stunning wood colors from the Amazon Forest; such as the yellow "angelim rajado", the purple "roxinho", red “muirapiranga” and the white “jarina” nut from the ivory palm tree, which is salvaged from the rainforest floor.

We are big fans of this studio; from their craftsmanship providing a sustainable income for their community to their dedication to preserve the natural resources of the rainforest.


Eco-friendly Design & Production

Common Texture | Do Good Yoga Mat Bags


Whenever we design a new product we like it zero waste. A by-product of mass production is the enormous amount of fabric waste resulting from overproduction. Leftovers and surplus fabric end up in landfills or at best in local neighborhoods where fabric sellers try to make a living reselling it.
Products like our Do Good Yoga Mat Bags are created using carefully selected premium quality upcycled fabrics and trimmings in an attempt to reduce that fabric waste.
 
We believe our customers to be environmentally and socially conscious shoppers and that’s why they choose our products. We ship your orders as eco-friendly as possible, lovingly wrapped in packaging with a second life.


"Eco-friendly goods with clever design and superb quality."

 

Stitching & Leather Craft

Common Texture | upcycled leather


Some of our stitching is outsourced to small local workshops that we have visited personally to make sure the establishments are ethical, friendly and fair places to work.
We also do our fair share of hands-on stitching ourselves. We have our own in-house leathercrafter who creates amazing leather accessories, from the design to the final product. We spend time searching for leather hides that are surplus stock to create our upcycled leather collection; we then use veg dyes and soften the leather for our requirements before cutting each piece applying a zero-waste technique.


"Handmade one piece at a time."